Thursday, June 4, 2015

Catholic Church 2

Check out our Bible Illustrated project!
[youtube channel] [site] [facebook] [patreon]

Catholic Church galleries: 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Back to Catholic Church
Back to the Main Page

Tridentine Mass

The Tridentine Mass is the form of the Roman Rite Mass contained in the typical editions of the Roman Missal that were published from 1570 to 1962. It was the most widely celebrated Mass liturgy in the world until the introduction of the Mass of Paul VI in December 1969. In nearly every country it was celebrated exclusively in Latin. 

Pope Francis, leader of the Roman Catholic Church

He became the Archbishop of Buenos Aires in 1998 and was created a cardinal in 2001 by Pope John Paul II. Following the resignation of Pope Benedict XVI on 28 February 2013, a papal conclave elected Bergoglio as his successor on 13 March. He chose Francis as his papal name in honor of Saint Francis of Assisi. Francis is the first Jesuit pope, the first from the Americas, the first from the Southern Hemisphere and the first non-European pope since the Syrian Gregory III in 741, 1,272 years earlier.

Ciborium of Fulton Sheen

Medal of St. Benedict

We see St. Benedict holding his Rule; next to him, on a pedestal, is the cup that once held poison, shattered after he made the Sign of the Cross over it. The other pedestal is topped by the raven, who is about to carry away the poisoned bread. In very small print above these pedestals are the words: Crux s. patris Benedicti (The Cross of our Holy Father Benedict). 
Underneath St. Benedict are the words: ex SM Casino MDCCCLXXX (from holy Monte Cassino, 1880). 
Surrounding the entire face of the medal are the words: Eius in obitu nostro praesentia muniamur (May we at our death be fortified by his presence.)
In the arms of the Cross are the initials C S S M L - N D S M D, which stand for the rhyme:

Crux sacra sit mihi lux! 
Nunquam draco sit mihi dux! 

The Holy Cross be my light; 
Let not the dragon be my guide.

In the corners of the Cross are C S P D, which stand for the same words found on the front over the pedestals: Crux s. patris Benedicti (The Cross of our Holy Father Benedict).
Above the Cross is the word "Pax" (Peace), the Benedictine motto.
Surrounding the entire back of the medal are the initials to the words of the exorcism: V R S N S M V - S M Q L I V B, which stand for the rhyme:

Vade retro Satana! 
Nunquam suade mihi vana! 
Sunt mala quae libas. 
Ipse venena bibas! 

Begone, Satan, 
Do not suggest to me thy vanities!
Evil are the things thou profferest, 

Drink thou thy own poison! 

The IHS christogram, as used in the Catholic Church in relation to the devotion of Holy Name of Jesus.

The Rosary

The prayers that essentially compose the Rosary are arranged in sets of ten Hail Marys with each set preceded by one Lord's Prayer and followed by one Glory Be. During recitation of each set, known as a decade, thought is given to one of the Mysteries of the Rosary, which recall events in the lives of Jesus and Mary. Normally, five decades are recited in a session.

Beautiful stained glass

Chartres Cathedral Labyrinth

Capella Palatina in Palermo, Italy

No comments:

Post a Comment